Cue Takeout

I’ve been dabbling in the real food kitchen for a while now and am so ready to take the full plunge.  I have been doing certain things here and there and they have now become staples in the house – but the other staples haven’t quite left…the bags of chips, specifically.  As a working mom to a 13 month old, life is hectic and time is not my friend.  I prep on the weekends for the week but come the weeknight, I am tired and exhausted and just want to have something ready to go (cue takeout).  So the weekend prep has turned in to strictly breakfast and lunch for my husband and me throughout the week and much less about the entire week of food prep.  That is my main focus to change right now.  If I can get back to planning out all meals, including dinners, with an extra hour of work on the weekends my week will be healthier, cheaper and more in line with the goal I have for us.  This is my public declaration that I will begin posting weekly meal plans to not only help you out, but the keep myself in line and on point.

Here is a quick run-down of what I am doing during this transition phase:

  • Weekly soaked bread for the family to eat
  • Weekly kombucha for the family to drink (although I am the only one drinking it at the moment)
  • Raw cheese
  • Organic, pasteurized milk from grass-fed cows (not the best option, but the best option for us right now)
  • Grass-fed beef
  • Weekly roasted organic whole chicken for weekly meals and weekly bone broth (see picture
  • Sprouting wheat berries for sprouted flour
  • Homemade gummies for healthy snacks

What still needs to get worked through for this transition to be complete (not a complete list):

  • Trips to the inside aisles of the grocery store for chips, cookies, donuts, etc.  
  • Not soaking or sprouting my quinoa or rice
  • I want to start making water kefir and drinking raw milk
  • I want to start drinking my bone broth instead of just cooking with it
  • We use eating out as an option way too often
Slow Cooker Chicken Stock

Slow Cooker Chicken Bone Broth

Leave a Reply

